London and Blackpool, 2012

So here we are, in Blackpool on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. It is so warm outside, the British partying public are out in force, and we got to sleep in as late as we wanted today! Who could complain? Life is good.

So we’ve been in England for a week now. Weather in London was so-so, but the lessons and practice were great! Sometimes, when you take your lessons, everyone is happy with you, no one can wait to see you in performance, and everything just feels good. It’s rare, I know, but that’s what everything was like this time!

We’ve been practicing only our Standard. We needed to practice our Latin, but as my Standard ballgown wasn’t finished, we (or, more accurately, I) ended up spending all extra time sewing feathers. When we left for Blackpool on Thursday, which was a hazily sunny day, we still hadn’t practiced our Latin or finished my ballgown!

So yesterday, we danced our Pro Rising Star Latin. We got there early to practice everything, run through and discuss some timing issues. And yet, for all of our lack of practice, we danced really well! We made it to the round of 96 and got to dance to live music by the Empress Orchestra. Our last round was very good, and we could feel that everyone were dancing their hearts out, trying to make that pivotal round of 48.

In the end, we didn’t make the 48, but we weren’t upset. But for a few couples who, we could tell, were in the round based on merits other than their dancing, we could objectively look out at that field and say, honestly, there was no one in there that we felt were clearly worse than us. And looking at the couples who didn’t make the 48, there were a number of couples who probably deserved those coveted spots more than us and yet, in the end, we finished in the same round. So I feel we finished where we deserved. And that’s a very good feeling.

Last night, after the comp, Sims and I were exhausted. We had been at the comp for seven hours without any substantial food. Our feet hurt. We made a little Shopska Salata for dinner, and I could feel my head dropping as Sims chopped the cucumbers. But if anything could wake me up, it would be my shower.

Because in our first round, during our Samba, Sims dropped his arm a bit too low while spinning me and scraped the big stone I had glued to my forehead clean off. Gluing the stone on was painful enough, because E6000 gives you chemical burn on your skin. But it holds… until Sims scraped it off with his arm and took a few layers of skin with it. At the time, I swallowed my scream reflex and filled in the hole with makeup so no one could notice it. But that night, when I had to wash it off, that’s when the crying really began!

Ahhh… the fun of competition. Well, that’s all for now. Starbucks is closing and I’m about to lose my internet. But more to come, I promise! Including pictures of my dress once it’s done!

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Dancing, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

