Natural Recipe Experiments

A lot of you know I’ve been experimenting with natural recipes for home beauty, and I’ve been having a blast while I’m at it! Thanks to extensive online research as well as a book a friend of mine gave filled with natural recipes for beauty, I’ve managed to change a large part of my beauty regime. And honestly, I have to admit the natural stuff works better and had longer lasting effects. For instance, a few months back I decided to seriously take care of my nails and try to get them to grow longer. Thus began my natural experiments. Now my nails are so shiny that a lot of people think I wear clear nail polish (which I don’t) and are longer than some people’s fake nails! My nails are definitely a source of pride.

But I’ve taken my natural experimenting further. When I’m home, I wash my face with a quick mask made of turmeric, yoghurt, and lemon juice every other day, which does wonders for my acne. And once a week, I do a mask of water and baking soda, which itches but pretty much kills every pimple I have.

I still had yet to experiment with an exfoliator, especially because baking soda and water exfoliates really well just on its own. But while I’m here, in England, I don’t have baking soda. I tried to come up with an exfoliator that didn’t force me to buy extra ingredients at the store. So after a bit of research, I came up with my own recipe, although it’s rather well known:

1 tbs milk

1 tbs honey

2 tbs salt

I used it on my face last night, and I’d have to say I am highly pleased. I mean, my face felt so smooth not just last night, but this morning, also! And my “travel blemishes”, as I call the acne I get whenever I travel, are dried up. Sweet. Definitely recommend this to anyone. Works way better than any store-bought exfoliator I’ve used.

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Travels, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Natural Recipe Experiments

  1. Lost in Town says:

    ….;) Thanks!

  2. hilda says:

    Hi! I’m glad you’ve found the wonderful world of homemade skin care 🙂 My blog, http://www.hildablue.com, is all about making your own products so maybe you’ll find some tips there.
    I just wanted to ask what you’re doing with your nails? I take extremely bad care of my nails and I really should start doing something about that… Any tips?

Leave a Reply

