The Beauty of Superficiality

I’m sitting in the lobby of the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Irvine, CA. I’m sweaty, my ears are burning from the reaction of the metal backings on my already beleaguered earlobes; my neck and lower back is tired from dancing Standard last night and sleeping on a bad mattress, and my hands are still shaking from the sudden outburst of adrenaline. But does anybody see that from the outside? Of course not. The sweat is but the sheen of a bronzed goddess, and clinging to my ears are enormous crystals that gleam and sparkle in the light; the defined lines of my neck and back betray a body lithe and supple, and my hands tremble from such an emotional connection to the music.

This is the beauty of superficiality. The word “superficial” has such negative connotations, and I know that the level of superficiality in DanceSport is sometimes what turns people off from this incredible and unparalleled form of art. But as I sit here, calming down from what I felt was a very good round for me, and I gaze at the youth that are getting ready to dance, I feel stirred in me an amazing appreciation for this superficiality. The women and girls in this sport are beautiful beyond comparison, the men handsome and all smartly dressed. When I’m in the real world, I miss the time and effort it takes for those in the dance world to “look the part”. There is an almost obsessive attention to dress, posture, and manners in the dance world. Yes, it might be superficial, but it’s beautiful. More than beautiful! It is a celebration of beauty at its finest. I love every moment of it.

Had it on my mind, and just had to get it down.

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

