When the Livin’ is Easy…..

Ok, I know it’s been a while since my last post, on any of my blogs! I’ve been massively busy, between our training and teaching, then trying to find time to take advantage of the summer now that it has finally arrived in the Emerald City, and I still want to be able to write my newest book from time to time. But yesterday was such an amazing day that I felt an uncontrollable urge to share it with everyone! Yesterday made me fully appreciate how much I love this city. I was driven to such passion for the city that I live in that I almost felt like crying! I can’t say this enough, but I love Seattle unlike any other city, and the longer I live here, the more I love it! The more I see of Seattle, the more I realize this really is one of the most beautiful cities in the world.
Our day started off great! We headed out from our mountain home in Snoqualmie into downtown Seattle for practice and teach an hour. We try to keep our Saturday schedules light so that we can enjoy our summer at least one day a week! We got to Seattle in fifteen minutes, during a drive that starts in the gorgeous foothills of the Cascade Mountain Range, then across gorgeous Lake Washington under cloudless blue skies. Our practice went well, our Waltz was feeling pretty good, and I had an awesome lesson with a couple that was getting prepared for their wedding. Once the lesson was done, we closed up the studio and hopped in the car! It was time to head down south, into a huge area called Ranier Valley. This is the valley floor right before you hit Mt Ranier, a huge mountain that, on sunny days, dominates the Seattle landscape if you’re looking east or south. It was incredible. The weather was such that you felt you could see every glacier and crevasse on the mountainside.
Finally, after an hour of driving, we made it out to Auburn, this tiny little place we call a “boony-town” cause it’s seriously out in the boonies. And worse, our friend’s apartment was in the boonies of Auburn! But it was great, she had made some food that her mother used to make for her when she was a child, and the dishes were amazing! When everyone started coming, the ice cream started rolling in. We have at least three Chinese (and Taiwanese, but I won’t differentiate just to save time writing… don’t want to offend anyone!) in our immediate group, so of course they were ecstatic when they discovered that my favorite flavors of ice cream are Red Bean, Green Bean, and Green Tea. We had all three of those flavors, plus Taro (ewww!) and coconut and mango.
We headed down to the pool and spent, literally, all morning beside the pool, toasting in the sun. Beautiful, amazing; I was so happy! We barbequed hamburgers, which were not terribly good because the person in charge of bringing hamburger meat decided to splurge and buy the expensive, low fat, organic beef. That makes terrible burgers! Never buy the expensive meat for burgers! You need the cheapest, fattiest beef you can find. Then the burgers are awesome!
Anyway, after the day by the pool, we hopped in the car again and drove back up to Seattle, where we crossed into Magnolia for a house party thrown by the girlfriend of one of our students. We had so much fun! From the pool party to the house party, I managed to keep up a pretty good buzz, which meant when the music turned on and Simeon decided to try out some Salsa and make up some moves, I was nearly on the floor from laughing! While I was dancing, mind you. He made up some pretty cool moves, too, but I just couldn’t stop laughing. My laughter was more from pure enjoyment of the moment than from anything Sims was doing. We also got to sit outside beside a gorgeous fire-pit and chill out drinking Grand Marnier Cosmo Punch by firelight and talk about… whatever we wanted!
At last midnight rolled around, but the night was not over! We headed downstairs and out onto her back deck, where she had a huge, fifteen-person hot tub. Those of us still left got in and, with our Grand Marnier Cosmo Punches, gazed happily at the incredible view from off her deck. We even saw a shooting star or two. On our way home later that night (or earlier that morning?) I was overcome with my love for this city. We were crossing the Magnolia Bridge and could see the top of the Space Needle lit up above the buildings and the reflection of the city lights in the water beneath us, and I realized I never want to move away. I was born here, and I belong here. Seattle is my city, hands down.

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the Livin’ is Easy…..

  1. writingwildy says:

    Kora, I totally agree with you about Seattle and surroundings. Although I have not been to quite as many places in the world as you I have had the priveldge of traveling to some very beautiful cities in this world. When I first came up here in 79, Seattle reminded me of San Fran a bit. But when we drove to those wonderful foothills of the cascades and seeing “our Mountain” I said out loud I am home and have never regreted the move since. You describe it beautifully. And Seattle is an exciting wonderful city to go “hang out” I love it! Glad to see you are having some fun. Looking forward to seeing you dance soon. Thank you for sharing! Hope the book is going well!
    writingwildly (L)

Leave a Reply

