Part 2: Professional Rising Star Standard: Blackpool Dance Championships 2011

Finally, Part 2 of my description of our time in Blackpool. It’s been difficult for me to write, as we’ve been extremely busy while on our trip. Busy doing nothing, if you know what I mean. Normally I catch up on all of my blog posts on the airplane, but the airline that we take from England to Bulgaria, Wizz Air (power to the Hungarians, woo hoo!), only allows one carry-on. And when I have to take my very expensive costumes with me, what do you think I’m carrying on? I’ll give you a hint: it’s not my laptop! And once we landed in Bulgaria, we had barely enough time to get ready and compete. The next day was visiting with friends and family, and finally we come to today… more visiting with friends and family, but right now we’re at Starbucks in Sofia and Simeon is chatting with an old friend… in Bulgarian, which gives me some time to write this post. OKAY!! Here we go:

The Monday after our Rising Star Pro Latin was our Rising Star Pro Standard. It’s so nice actually having days off, for once. As amateurs, we danced seven days in a row, which was exhausting to say the least.  But as professional, we get days off, which is really nice to relax mentally and physically.

Well, unfortunately that rest didn’t help me very much. Supposedly we danced well, but we were unfortunately just out of the top 48. This was a disappointment for us, as we made the top 48 at the UK Championships in January and we were really hoping to make it this year, as well. But we also understand that the competition is quite different here. And again, we were only 2 call-backs out! So close! That could have been, simply, one judge forgot to mark us in Waltz and in Quickstep. Bam, there are 2 call-backs right there. Or one judge’s couple was in our heat. And there we go, we didn’t make it. Simple as that. Add to the fact that the panel wasn’t great for us, and I was having some pretty major muscle spasms all the way up and down the left side of my back, and there goes our chances. So yes, we were disappointed, but nothing to be angry over. None of the couples who made the 48 were clearly worse than us, some of them could easily have been traded out for us, but that’s just the luck of the night. Even at the UK Championships, we were 40th, which means some of those couples who could have been traded out for us at Blackpool possibly were traded out for the UK. A couple of call-backs out means we’re placed 55th; a couple of call-backs in means we’re placed 40th.

Right now we are exactly in that middle range. So our goal is to get ahead of that middle range so that we’re clearly in the 48 regularly and knocking on the door of the 24. That will probably take a year or two to be close to the 24, but that is our short-term goal. In other words, if you want to make the 48 safely, you’d better be good enough to dance in the 24; if you want to make the 24, you’d better be good enough to dance in the 12. That’s the nature of competition. So we have our work cut out for us!

On the plus side, I wore my older white and jade dress. By older I don’t mean old, I just mean the older dress. I have a brand new dress I wore for the Open (Part 4 of the Blackpool update, coming soon) and for our National Championships here in Bulgaria. But I wore the white and jade dress for the Rising Star, and people loved it. That jade dress really sparkles on the floor, and our teachers afterward told me how calm and professional we looked on the floor. I’m so happy to hear that we have our look figured out. Now the difficult part – the dancing!

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Dancing, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

