A Great Start to the New Year

Things have really gotten off to a great start! We are getting really good practice in every day, I’m getting into Bikram yoga twice a week, and I’m having an absolute blast with my students. And I’m so excited about my birthday party this weekend! I really can’t think of a better way to spend my Saturday night than surrounded by friends at Taphouse, where I have over 160 beers at my fingertips (!!!), and a load of presents in front of me. I am really looking forward to it.
New Years was slow and subdued for me. I guess everyone else would call it hectic and stressful, but I didn’t get my usual party night, which I really missed. But I did spend New Years with friends up in Vancouver and, of course, our coach of 10 years, so that was cool. And on New Years Day, our coach and we went out to Steveston, in the Richmond area, and had breakfast at the Starbucks there. (check the Starbucks Project blog for pictures of that Starbucks) Steveston is a gorgeous little quayside town, and to make things even better, this freezing cold New Years Day was blindingly bright with a cloudless sky. I can’t think of a better way to start off the New Year. That night, we had dinner with some friends from the studio, then headed over to their house and played Kinect. We’ve never played Kinect before… it was so much fun! Poor Simeon was sore for about 4 days after that! He even complained about being sore in his armpits! But I think that was from all the push-ups he’s been doing.
Yesterday, I went to Bikram Yoga with one of my students after a very frustrating practice. It’s not that Simeon and I didn’t get along during our practice; actually, this was one of the few practices where we DID get along! But we were practicing Samba, and few things frustrate me like Samba. It’s obvious there is something about the dance I just don’t get. So I was pretty fed up while my student and I made our ways to yoga. But when I got there, I guess my frustration really fueled me, because I had a roaring yoga class! First of all, the teacher was really good. She was the style of teacher I really like, one that is really focused on the technique. She walked around and gave individual tips to people, and she seemed to be able to keep a good balance between allowing you to descend into your body, while at the same time keeping you present in pursuit of good yoga. It was pretty cool. I was so happy I did the yoga last night, because it invigorated me for teaching today. If it wasn’t for that yoga class, I probably would have been really bummed out all night; as it was, I was in a great mood all day!
Hope it lasts for today… fingers crossed!

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

