What to Write?!?!?!

Having writing problems… I have great ideas, storylines that will be great, characters full of conflict, facets and motifs and love stories and tragedies…. I’m itching to write! My mind is full of ideas, my dreams are haunted by scenes of novels unwritten! So what’s the hold-up? I can’t get them on paper. And why? There’s no man I’m in love with at the moment.

I mean that in a purely writing sense. Of course I love Simeon. That’s not the point. But in all of my books, there’s a man I’m absolutely in love with. In my first two novels it was Vitenka, in my second two it was the Duke of Buckingham. I don’t have a man right now.

I thought I was falling in love with Guilhem, but I can’t seem to do it. The problem is, he’s too much of a good guy. I mean, he’s too nice. OK, so he drinks sometimes and sometimes when he’s drunk he gets violent, but he doesn’t mean to, and when he’s sober he’s never mean. It’s not usually the type of male major characters I use. I guess when I got ready to write Guilhem, I was thinking, ok, I’ve written four novels with mean guys. Even Vitenka, who is the protagonist, is mean. And Buckingham is, of course, the major antagonist. I was thinking I didn’t want to get into a cycle. Or, even worse, for people to say “Kora, your men are always so mean and abusive, why don’t you write a nice male character?” But in truth, I think I simply like to use cruel characters for my men.

I’ll be honest, I am writing a book on the side, by hand, in a journal, where the antagonist is autocratic and cruel and probably insane, and this story I am really enjoying. It will never be published. Maybe I’ll put it online somewhere, but it’s essentially a very dark, S&M type sequel to the classic movie “Labyrinth”. So my protagonist is Jareth (the Goblin King) who is known to be manipulative and cruel, and my antagonist is Jareth’s brother, the Lord Aegir (a character from a short story I wrote in High School that I never forgot about). But of course, for copyright purposes and etc etc, I will probably never publish this book, which means I don’t have to worry about people’s opinions and I can just write whatever I want!

Though, I’m starting to figure out that despite people’s opinions, I’d better stay true to myself. I like to write disturbed characters. I like to write abusive men. Don’t ask me why.

Along the lines of abusive men, it was very common in the Middle Ages for a nobleman to abduct a noblewoman he wants to marry and rape her. Normally the rape would bring such disdain upon her that she would be forced to marry him. Can you imagine! So, in exploring this, I have an idea for a quick novella. I can probably write it in a few weeks, just to have something to write about while I wait for an inspiration for another novel to hit me. It will be an interesting topic to explore, and I intend to write from first person so as to practice for The Red Carnation or the other novel I’m preparing to write, which are both in first person. Maybe I’ll post it on my website when I’m done. Maybe I’ll seek to publish it. I dunno. We’ll see.

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to Write?!?!?!

  1. Hmmm, an interesting concept. Maybe you should examine your own subconscious and your feelings towards the male species (although you said you don’t want to)…why do men always have to be cruel? Why do you like cruel men? Or, why not a multi-faceted man that is both cruel at times and nice at others? Personally, I think it would be more fascinating to have a cruel woman character to switch things up a bit.

  2. korastoynova says:

    Yes, it’s very strange because I know that if I was ever involved with a man like the type that I write, I would be miserable, and yet the draw to write them remains incredibly strong. The draw to submit my female characters to them is absolutely irresistible! I’ve always been the sort of girl who was drawn to “bad boys”, even as a young teenager and I was just beginning to feel these things, it was the “bad boys” that attracted me. Considering my father is a great and kind man, and my husband is the most wonderful man in the world, it is interesting indeed! Maybe leftover from a past life???

Leave a Reply

