A Change of Focus

For those of you who know me – and know my life – I am a busy busy bee, with very little time for leisure. And unfortunately, because my writing does not (as yet) make a good deal of money, my writing must be delegated to the leisure column. That means less time to write, and even less time to write about my writing. I have kept this blog in the last year and a half to be mostly for my budding writing career, but an early frost has nipped my bud. Not to say this frost is unwelcome. It is composed of the beautiful crystals of my dancing career, which is spreading fast and far and wide and will soon blanket everything else in my world. And how beautiful does the world look when shimmering with that first, crystalline frost? Not good for the bud of my writing, but wonderful for a sparkling winterland.

I intend to continue my writing, though more as a leisure rather than in pursuit of a career. Writing and dancing are much the same: both are at the mercy of a subjective audience, and hence require 100% of oneself in order to be successful. I’m ok with that. I know full well that dance in something I must do while I am young; I cannot be a world champion at 50. Then again, I also know full well that writing is like wine; my writing will improve with age (and experience).  I am content relegate my writing to a level of secondary importance while I pursue my dance career. This relegation is only temporary. And this relegation only means in terms of my determination to secure an agent/publisher/contract. This in no way means I will stop writing, or snub my nose at an opportunity, or forget my dream of becoming a writer. I am still submitting my books for representation. I am still working on my current novel, THE RED CARNATION, and I am still planning on attending meetings of both the Pacific Northwest Writers Association and Sno-Valley Writes! That is… when I am in town. Which, as those who know me also know, is rare.

In lieu of the above, I have decided to change the focus of my blog. Instead of being devoted to my writing, I would like to devote my blog to my life as a whole. My life, and Simeon’s life; our lives together as we navigate through the landscape of our dreams. I intend to blog about my writing, our dancing, our travels, anything and everything we do in these fast-paced days.

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

