Back Home

Well, after a very long time on the road, we are finally back home. It wasn’t just the trip to England that tired us out, it was an added trip to San Jose just two days after we returned! Yesterday I was so exhausted from all the dancing and training, all the travelling, and all the lack of sleep, that I was nauseous and dizzy all day long. But luckily, we were able to sleep for twelve hours last night! So needless to say, I am feeling much better. Much much better….

On the trip to LA, I started plotting out my next book. I’ve been working the project I just finished, my historical fiction THE SOPHISTRY OF ALCHEMY, for so long – 5 or 6 years – that I’d forgotten how exciting it is to begin a new project. Luckily, this current story should be quicker to write. It takes place in the same time period as SOPHISTRY, so I don’t have to do much extra research. Just find a 15th century street map of Moulins and do a quick little skim over the politics of Southern France at the time, and that should do it. Also, unlike SOPHISTRY, this story is completely fictional, no true characters I have to deal with and kill off when they’re supposed to die, etc. My characters are all completely fictional, so I can have much more fun with them. Later I will go back to historicals in the true sense of the word, using times and characters who were real, but I needed a divergence from the constant fact-checking involved in my last novel.

So what is this new book, you might ask? A re-writing of a famous Medieval romance called THE ROMANCE OF FLAMENCA. Instead, currently, I am calling it THE RED CARNATION. I always choose my titles first, even if I change them later. I don’t know if other writers do so also, but for me it helps keep my themes in order. My titles, after all, are always related to my themes.

Anyway, THE RED CARNATION is story of Alix, the bastard daughter of the Abbot of L’Eglise du Sacre Coeur, a church in the city of Moulins, who meets the knight from THE ROMANCE OF FLAMENCA, the rakish Guilhem de Nevers, mid-story. I’m excited about this book. It will not be as long as SOPHISTRY, but the romanticism of the story will certainly be a joy to play with. Anyway, keep your eyes open for excerpts of the story appearing on my blog! And now, away to work! Non-writing work, the kind that actually pays the bills….

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Travels, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

