A Lover’s Grief Part 3

Standing abruptly, she refused my plea,

And murmured, “With you, I can never be free.”

Then, all at once, resurfaced my rage;

I tried to control it, but was far past that stage.

 

In anguish and in sorrow, with terrible strife,

I raised my hand, which was holding a knife.

With veritable skills I had perfected and honed,

I nestled the knife deep into her bones.

 

She began to weep, and beseeched of me, “Why?”

“How could you tell me our love was a lie?”

I demanded so bluntly of her, in good stead,

With grief and yet rage swirling about in my head.

 

She pressed together her lips and fell to the ground,

I helped her lay down with nary a sound.

I pet her cheek and kissed those fine lips,

I smoothened out her blonde, trembling tips.

 

I leaned close to whisper into her ear,

“My love, don’t worry, you have nothing to fear.”

All she could do was shake her fair head,

For in a few moments, she would be dead.

 

In one swift strike, her fate I had cast.

She gasped, and that breath was sadly her last.

I knew that the choice I had made was right,

For now, her rebuff I would nevermore fight.

 

She seemed so fine, my angel of light,

Lying so still in the dead of night.

I am so relieved that my love will be mine

For now and for the rest of eternity and time.

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

