The Pretender

More lyrical inspiration!

I have an idea to write a book about Perkin Warbeck, aka Richard the Duke of
York, PRESUMED missing and possibly killed in 1483 by… Richard III? Henry
Tudor? Perhaps the Duke of Buckingham? This Duke of York was the younger of the
Princes in the Tower, and only 11 when he disappeared. The idea that he might
have escaped is just far too enticing for me to ignore, especially considering
how much he plagued Tudor throughout his kingship.

Perkin Warbeck

I first became interested in this subject whilst reading Anne Wroe’s THE
PERFECT PRINCE, which is her very well-written biography of Piers/Peter/Perkin/Richard.
I’ve even considered using my Yorkist heroine, Isolda, to tell the story
(although I think I’ve decided against that, now).

So just as I was beginning to formulate the story in my head, I heard a song
by Foo Fighters called "The Pretender". It was like they read my mind! As if the
singer is Tudor fighting Perkin! Check out these lyrics:

"Keep you in the dark/you know they all pretend

Keep you in the dark/and so it all began

…They need you buried deep/the secrets that you keep are ever ready

…I’m finished making sense/Done pleading ignorance/That whole defence

Spinning infinity/Boy, the wheel is spinning me"

** TOTALLY A MEDIEVAL THING TO SAY!!! **

"It’s never ending, never ending/The same old story

What if I say I’m not like the others?

What if I say I’m not just another/One of your plays?

You’re the Pretender/What if I say that I will never surrender?"

Of course, anyone who knows anything about the story of Perkin (or the Duke of York, *hint hint* if ya know what I mean) knows that Tudor did not surrender and England never returned to Yorkist rule, thereby paving the way for the madman who was Henry VIII, and there begins my anti-Tudor tirade. Friends know… don’t get me started (Grr, bad red rose, and bad Shakespeare). But isn’t that interesting that the first time I heard this song by the Foo Fighters was also when I had just started thinking about jolly ole’ Perky? Coincidence? Or sign from God???

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Pretender

  1. iheartfilm says:

    I’d read your book.

    Chris

  2. korastoynova says:

    Thanks! Doesn’t it sound like an interesting topic?

Leave a Reply

