A Rose, in Any Form?

This picture is absolutely beautiful to me. I’ve posted it specifically for a certain friend of mine… he knows who he is. A picture like this is so ripe for inspiration, I can do so much with this picture! That’s why I’ve saved it.

Speaking of inspiration, Kristin Nelson on her blog last week spoke briefly about song lyrics as inspiration. I actually have a series of playlists that I listen to for inspiration. Cannot do it while I’m writing, because I become so focused on the lyrics of the song that I forget what I’m writing! But I listen when I’ve come to a tough spot in my writing (like where I am right now, doing the third rewrite for the first chapter of CS). I love good lyrics! Like this song by the British band Pulp:

“I’ve been sleeping with your wife for the past 16 weeks

Smoking your cigarettes, drinking your brandy

Messing up the bed that you chose together.

And in all that time, I just wanted you to come home unexpectedly one afternoon

And catch us at it in the front room.”

Ripe, I tell you, ripe! Anyway, as for books that inspire, WUTHURING HEIGHTS has got to be #1. I am fanatically in love with that book and have been since I was 14. You can’t go wrong with a troubled man so insanely in love that he digs up his lover’s corpse just to hold her one more time! Love it!

About korastoynova

With my husband, Simeon Stoynov, I travel the world in pursuit of our dreams, of which we have many. And, thankfully, all of our dreams are within our reach. We have made sure of it. From our lives as competitive ballroom dancers, a life which has taken us around the world and back, to my struggles to becoming an author, to Simeon's love of business, we have learned what it means to sacrifice, to apply ourselves with discipline, and to enjoy the journey to success. Our lives truly are made of the stuff of dreams.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Rose, in Any Form?

  1. Henry the VII says:

    is the top of this rose starting to turn white or is it just my imagination?

    what’s that faint sound i hear drifting down the hill of a past battle? ah yes, the repeating whisper…”tudor tudor tudor”

    will read the other blogs soon….

    your friend of mine

  2. korastoynova says:

    Ahhh, my dear old fiend has returned to haunt me again. Damn you bastardly Tydders, I say! And the whisper I hear is not so much of “tudor” as it is more the echoes of a wretched cry, “treason treason treason”
    but friend of mine, you will always be

  3. Justin says:

    Speaking of inspiration – the Labyrinth of Jareth Masquerade Ball! It looks like the dates for the 2009 LoJ ball are not up yet, but for the last few years it’s always been on the second weekend of July, which would be the 10th-11th this year. (Last year, for the first time, it ran on both Fri and Sat night, instead of just one night)

    My own blog be ‘ere.

    That rose picture is great!

  4. Justin says:

    This stupid thing doesn’t allow comment previews, or edits to fix the html mistakes that result from not being able to preview, which makes me look stupid, which is Not On!
    This is the correct link to the LoJ ball

Leave a Reply

